Tinder Social – How to Create a Group on Tinder Social

Tinder, one of the hottest and most popular dating and hookup app on Wednesday, April 28, 2015 rolled out a new feature which allows you to go on group dates with your friends. Tinder called this new feature  “Tinder Social” which will be first tested in Australia, and if successful Tinder will roll out to the rest of the world.

What is Tinder?

Tinder is an online matchmaking or blind-dating mobile app with a simple model providing location-based service dedicated to social discovery. The application connects with users’ Facebook profiles to provide pictures and ages for other users to view. Using GPS technology, users can set a specific radius, and they will have the option to match with anyone that is within that distance. It basically matches people who like each other, thereby reducing chances of rejection. If two users like each other then it results in a “match” and Tinder introduces the two users and opens a chat.

What is Tinder Social? And how it works?

With this new feature you will be able to meet groups of people from the app, instead of just one as is the case now. Users can gather a group of friends who use the app together, and swipe through other groups of tinder-using friends until they find a match. These groups are not permanent t lasted only for 48-hours, after which the group will expiry itself. This is to helps keeps the groups fresh, if anything, and you can disband your group anytime if it’s not working out.
Tinder Social - How to Create a Group on Tinder Social

To use Tinder Social, you need to start a group with your friends you’re going out with, and then swipe and match with other groups who are also going out. You can then chat with your group matches or see their status to find out what they’re up to and where everyone’s headed. It’s a way to go places full of people you’ve already matched with, making socializing so much easier once you’re out and about. Whether you’re looking for groups you share common interests with, or you’re looking for a completely new adventure, Tinder Social is a better way to go out with friends.

Tinder Social tells you exactly which of your friends use the app. Tinder uses Facebook verification when you try to join the app, and this has become one of the concerns of most users who wants their privacy to be maintained. However, Tinder quickly point out that any user who would prefer not to be added to groups can opt out of Tinder Social through his/her settings to no longer appear on their friends’ lists.

There aren’t many groups on Tinder just yet and they currently intermittently show up on the app. There is no separate view between profile types available at the moment, with groups just bundled in with individual profiles. Unfortunately, the gender selection option also doesn’t work for groups.

Its a new feature, and there aren’t many groups on Tinder just yet. In Tinder Social, there is no separate view between profile types available at the moment, with groups just bundled in with individual profiles and also the gender selection option also doesn’t work for groups.

See: How to Cancel Tinder Plus Subscription

How to Start a Group on Tinder Social?

Creating or staring a group on Tinder Social is as simple as creating a Facebook Group and there is no technical skills needed, just follow the steps by steps instructions below to create your first Tinder Social group;

1. Please make sure that before you try to create Tinder Social Group, you have the latest version Tinder app installed on your device. If you haven’t please update Tinder App from the Google Play Store or form the Apple App Store.
2. Assuming you have the latest Tinder app installed, now launch the app.
3. Tap the icon on the top left-hand corner of the Tinder app main screen.
4. There will be an option ‘Start A Group’ select “Start A Group”.
5. Name your group.
6. Choose or select at least one friend to add to your group. Please note that you cannot add a friend to a group if they’re already in a group.
7. Again Tap ‘Start A Group’ if you are on iPhone or the red arrow if you are on Android device.
8. Once your group has been created, you willl be able to see both individual profiles and other groups.

Other things to know about Tinder Social Group

# If you match with a group, once your own group expires, you can like, pass, or Super Like each individual from this group. If you didn’t match with a group and are interested in one of the group members, that person may still appear in your recommendations depending on your discovery preferences.

# You can be member of only one group at a time. If you’ve been added to a group, you can leave it at any time.

# When you’re in a group, your individual profile will still be shown to other users as well, and you’ll be able to swipe on both individual profiles and group profiles.

# To opt-out of being added to groups, tap the icon on the top left-hand corner of the main screen, go to ‘Settings’ or ‘Discovery Settings’, and de-select ‘Allow me to be added to groups.’ Your friends will no longer have the option to add you to their group, and your name will no longer appear on their friends list for Tinder Social.

# Once a group is created on Tinder Social, it will exist only for 48 hours. Six hours before your group expires, you’ll have the opportunity to extend your group if you wish to. Once a group expires, you can like, pass, or Super Like the individuals from each group you’ve matched with.

Like & Share:

Leave a Reply