Periscope one of the recent hits among the video live broadcasting app, owned by Twitter rolled out a new updates on May 4, 2016, good news for those who want to save periscope streams for a longer a period. This update brings a new feature which is already available on rival Facebook Live by allowing users to save live video streams for 24 hours or for forever and makes it less like Snapchat. This move comes as Periscope says goodbye to Katch, a third-party application for saving broadcasts and sharing them elsewhere. Up until now, Periscope app only allowed users the option to save their broadcasts for up to 24 hours. Those who wanted to hold on to their streams had to revert to saving them to their smartphones or uploading them onto third-party services, such as YouTube or Vimeo. Read on for How to Save Periscope Live Streamed Broadcasts Forever.
These “Saved Videos” will appear in a user’s profile in a gallery view. This function is also extends to Twitter, email, and any other platform on which broadcasts are shared. Currently there is no mention of limits on the number of videos a Periscoper can save. The new feature works on both iOS and Android devices.
According to Periscope CEO Kayvon Beykpour, more granular controls are in the pipeline. Announcing the #save feature through Periscope brocast itself, he confirmed that the engineers are looking to make the 24 hour delete period user-customizable: that way, for instance, you might be able to have a video available for a week-long period but then disappear automatically after that. That also includes capability for some people who want their broadcasts to be deleted more quickly.
Periscope app is used by more than 10 million by August 2015, for instantly connecting real-time events all over the world. Four months after launch, with 40 years worth of video watched per day. Periscope had approximately 1.9 million daily active users in August. For perspective, Snapchat has over 100 million daily active users, while Twitter has 320 million monthly active users, and Vine has 200 million monthly active users.
Periscope is an app that truly takes advantage of its mobile platform incorporating notifications and location as well as social sharing (on Twitter of course), live discussions and feedback. A Periscope broadcast in full swing is a truly interactive event. Once a broadcast is over, others can watch a replay, and even provide feedback, within Periscope for up to 24 hours. After that, the broadcast is removed from the app. This was the main issue for broadcasters was that their video would disappear from Periscope and the Twitter timeline within 24 hours.
With this new feature, it’s not a problem anymore.
How to Save Periscope Live Streamed Broadcasts Forever
The new feature is currently in open beta, which means you can test it out right now, to save periscope streams, just put or add “#save” in the broadcast title, the recorded video clip live on for as long as you choose. If you leave it as it is, it will stays for up to 24 hours, if you add hastag #Save then it will stay beyond the 24 hours limit until and unless you delete the recorded stream.
According to Periscope CEO Beykpour, the “#save” designation in broadcast titles will go away once the feature leaves beta and becomes an official part of the app. For the time being, “#save” can’t have any prefixes or suffixes attached to it in the description
In the meantime, you can opt-in to the public beta by using hashtag #Save in the title of your broadcast. This will ensure that your broadcast does not expire after 24 hours.
You can still delete your broadcast at any time, even if you’ve marked it with #Save. If you would like to delete your videos, there are a couple options. Please note that if you do not use #Save in the title of your broadcast your broadcast will still expire in 24 hours.
How To Save Periscope Broadcast to your device?
To automatically save a copy of all your broadcasts to your phone, follow the steps below;
1. Navigate to the People Tab
2. Tap the Profile icon in the top right corner
3. From your Profile page, tap ‘Settings’
4. Turn on ‘Auto-Save to Camera Roll’
To save an individual broadcast immediately after it has ended:
If you are on iOS device, tap ‘Save to Camera Roll’ after ending a broadcast to download the video stream to your phone.
On Android device, tap ‘Save to Gallery’ after ending a broadcast to download the video stream to your phone.
Your broadcast should be available in your Camera Roll (iOS) or Gallery or Video app (depending on your Android device).
How To Delete Periscope Replay?
Periscope gives you the option to delete your broadcast at any time, even if you’ve marked it with #Save. If you would like to delete your videos, there are a couple of options;
If you are on iOS device, immediately after your broadcast has ended, tap the ‘Delete Replay’ button (located at the bottom of the broadcast stats page). On Android, select the menu next to ‘Share Broadcast’ and tap ‘Delete Broadcast’.
To delete a replay video on iOS, open ‘Broadcasts’ from your Profile, swipe left on the video, and click ‘Delete’. On Android. open ‘Broadcasts’ from your Profile and select ‘Remove Replay’.
Please note that deleting a broadcast from your Twitter feed will not delete your broadcast from your Periscope account. The broadcast will be accessible to viewers until it is deleted using the Periscope app itself.
Watching Periscope Broadcasts on TV?
You can also watch Periscope Broadcast on the new Apple TV (4th generation), it let’s you instantly experience live broadcasts on your TV screen.
To enjoy this, you need to go to the App Store, download and open Periscope to see a collection of live broadcasts from around the world, in this case no account signup is required. There is no option to signup for or login to an existing account.
Like in the App, you can send hearts to the broadcaster by tapping the Touch surface on the Siri Remote and read comments from other people watching with you. Swipe down on the Touch surface to skip to the next broadcast, hide/show comments and hearts, and all other features are available as well.
Use the menu button to return to the main menu for an entirely fresh collection of streams to watch. If a broadcast you’re watching ends, Periscope will automatically take you to the next streams.
If you experience over scanning on your TV, where the borders of an image are drawn beyond the normally visible area, you can adjust the image by using overscan compensation on your TV or on the Apple TV Settings.
That’s it. If you have something to say about this “Save” feature you are welcome to add you views in the comment box below.
Related Posts on Periscope:
How to Save Periscope Live Streamed Broadcasts Forever
How to Get More Periscope Followers – Periscope Best Practices